Final Project

For the final I completed an installation piece centralized around a charcoal drawing, as stipulated in my proposal.

 

In progress:

 

Presentation in class:

img_0721.jpg

 

After getting home from class, I decided to take additional documentation:

DSC_0024

 

Self critique:

For this project I really enjoyed being able to work with a medium that I really liked – charcoal. I came up with the idea of “The Oracle” about a year ago, and I had been wanting to create a charcoal drawing with it for a long time, so I was excited for this project. Seeing into the future is going to reveal both life and death, and I wanted to incorporate both aspects of that. The flowers were a symbol of beauty and life, whereas the Wolf Spider specimen was a symbol of grotesqueness and death. The feather was used as a reference to my love for nature, and something that is important to me. I am very happy with the outcome of this project, but I wish I had more time, and could have executed it in a more polished fashion to the class.

Leave a comment